The Book Proposal is Written!

Getting closer to a real book! @emily_m_deardo

An update on last week’s checklist:

I have a written book proposal–a completed proposal! I am, if you can’t tell, really excited about this. I’ll be talking more about this on Wednesday (what  makes up a proposal), but this is a huge step forward in preparing my queries/book packages.

The proposal is essentially an Idiot’s Guide to my book. I summarize it, say why it’s needed, talk about me and my background, and then give a bit of the book. Some agents and houses just want this; some want this and a completed manuscript, and some just want a manuscript, full stop.

I’ve also decided that the book, at the moment, doesn’t need a prologue, so I don’t have to write a new one. I’m planning on writing the new epilogue once I’m back from vacation, because by then the actual ten year anniversary will have passed.

Today, I start work on the last list item: going through what particular houses/agents want.

I hope everyone had a great Fourth of July! Did you do anything particularly exciting to celebrate?

Leave a comment